Fresh Basil Hummus

Fresh Basil HummusI created this delicious recipe almost by mistake. There was a lot of fresh basil in my garden that I wanted to use before it would go bad. Since I absolutely love basil, I thought it would probably be a good idea to mix it in my traditional hummus recipe. It turned out to be FANTASTIC!! I brought it to a friend’s party and everybody loved it! I think this recipe is perfect if you are new to making homemade hummus.


I eat this hummus with veggies, my homemade crackers (recipe here) or on a piece of rye toast. It is also a great spread to eat with chicken (my boyfriend loves it!).
This recipe is also really healthier than the store-bought version because it contains less oil and no preservatives. It is also cheaper, it only requires simple ingredients and the tahini could be replaced by peanut butter if you don’t have any. If you do want to purchase tahini, I recommend going to a Middle-Eastern or Indian grocery store. It will be more authentic and less expensive. I payed 5 $ for a 454 g jar made in Lebanon!

Ingredients

1 540 mL can of chickpeas
3 tablespoons of olive oil
5 tablespoons of water (more if you like it creamy)
A handful of basil leaves
The juice of one lemon
1 teaspoon of cumin
1 garlic clove
1 heaped tablespoon of tahini (or peanut butter)

Method

Start by rinsing the chickpeas. If you have a food processor, place all  ingredients in it and blend until smooth. If you do not own a good food processor (like me!), use your hands to crush the chickpeas. Add all the other ingredients (chop the garlic and basil first) and use a hand blender to mix.

Place in an air-tight jar in the fridge. Stays good for about a week!

Yum

3 thoughts on “Fresh Basil Hummus

  1. Hi Shannon,

    I just made a batch of my own today for a picnic this evening, couldn’t resist tasting beforehand…yummy!! Such a brilliant snack and quick thing to whizz up. I too also absolutely adore basil.

    Keep it up!!
    Vicky

    (aka RecipeVix…I’ve changed my name to http://ohbeans.co.uk/blog/)

    Like

Leave a Reply

